what i’ve been reading – mini-reviews

Welcome back.  It’s been a while.

I’ve read a few books since my last book post, and today I have some quick reviews for you.  For more book stuff – recommendations, ratings, and reviews, go check out my Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/64683880-faith).

Firstly, I finally finished 1984 by George Orwell a few weeks ago.

Image result for 1984 book

4.5/5 

Wow – this book.  I think this is a really important story, especially for our generation with the world we are growing up in.  It’s basically the original dystopian.  My copy is bent and written in and underlined all over the place.  This book was very eye-opening but truly saddening.  Humanity is just screwed up.  So is fascism.

If you are interested in politics or a heavier read or a classic, read this book.  It definitely drags a little and the ending was dispiriting, but I would still give it a 4.5.

Next is Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

Image result for heartless marissa meyer3/5

I read this over Easter (https://adventuringirlblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/20/easter-weekend-recap/). It was a story about the Queen of Hearts before she was the Queen of Hearts, around when she was a teen.

I think the writing was pretty well done and the story was super engaging, but the ending just wrecked everything.  I completely understand sad endings (was that a spoiler? I don’t think so) when they have a point, but there was just no point – like what was the message of that sadness?  Why did the whole story matter besides being interesting then?  I did like the story, however.

Thirdly, I’ve got the historical fantasy book My Lady Jane.  

Image result for my lady jane cover

 

4/5

This book was light-hearted and humorous.  Basically, the three authors changed the story of Lady Jane Grey and King Edward VI, so there was magic and a little bit of romance and adventure.

I think at some points of the book I was honestly annoyed.  It was kind of long and the writing was just a little irritating to me.  At first, I thought there was no substance to this book, but it actually is a lot of fun and considers the deep topic of sexism in historical governments in a light way.  Looking back on it, I actually do think I enjoyed this book.

That’s all for now.  Since it is summer break for me (!!!), I will be posting more.  Stay tuned.

– Faith xx

8 thoughts on “what i’ve been reading – mini-reviews

  1. Pingback: -may- | The Adventuring Girl

  2. Pingback: “what cats do” – a book tag | The Adventuring Girl

Leave a Reply

