we were liars – book review

heya, hello, hey, hi.

Image result for books gif

Guess what – I’m getting back into reading!  It started a week or two ago, a bit after I wrote my favorite novels post, when I went to the library.  I picked up several light fantasy and contemporary reads.  And the first one i read was this one, so… enjoy!

Image result for we were liars

Author – E. Lockhart

Publication – May 2014

Genre – YA contemporary

Rating – 4/5

This story is a captivating, edge-of-your-seat, can’t-put-down sort of novel.  It’s different from a standard YA novel in that the chapters are shorter and the book is shorter, as well.

In short, it’s about a rich yet sick girl from a rich family.  Every summer, her family goes to their private island and Cadence adventures and frolics around with her two cousins and family friend – the Liars.  Part of the story takes place in “summer fifteen” (the summer on the island when Cady was fifteen) and part of story takes place in “summer seventeen” as Cadence tries to piece together her memory and what happened two summers ago.

It really is a lovely but shocking mystery.  At the end, I was so shocked that the sadness didn’t hit me until the last chapter or two (if you’ve read the book, you know what I mean).

Also, it majorly reminded me of how much I love summer and I want it to come around again.

You should read this book if:

  1. you like contemporary or mystery or adventure stories
  2. you want it to be summer already
  3. you like innocent romance
  4. you like quick yet good reads

You shouldn’t read this book if:

  1. any of the above are decidedly false
  2. you’re not into good books

Other than that, I think it’s an awesome, easy book.  I didn’t especially relate to it, but it was certainly interesting.

Thanks for reading, let me know if you’ve read this book and we can chat in the comments.

Stay tuned – I’ve got some cool posts coming up 😉

— Faith xx

 

2 thoughts on “we were liars – book review

  1. I read this book aswell and the same thing happened to me at the end. It was so sad then all of a sudden *SMACKKKKK* I was really emotional. It left me wondering what else happened for hours.
    This review is great X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

