favorite novels

Hey friends.  I haven’t read very much this new year – I think I’ve only read four books in my free time so far.  I miss reading, but I’ve got several other things going on and several other things that I want to do, so it’s hard to do as much reading. Currently I’m reading 1984 by George Orwell (which is kind of a heavy read) and I’ve started a couple other books.

But today I thought I’d share with you my all time favorite novels and series. Comment down below if you love any of these stories as much as I do, or if you don’t.

The Hunger Games Series

This series is simply amazing.  I read all three books last year, around the time the last movie came out.

This series is such an honest portrayal of terrorism and major manipulation, as well as love, yet it’s for teens.  I think there were so many great parts of the series that I can’t choose my favorite part, but I’d have to say my favorite book in general was Catching Fire.

I wouldn’t say I’m Team Gale or Team Peeta – I think I’m more Team Katniss, whoever she chooses.  And since she chose Peeta, then I guess I’m more Team Peeta.  Katniss is awesome.  She’s independent and strong and loving all at the same time.  Top notch hair inspo, too.

The sister love in these books and films is heart-wrenching.

gif, Jennifer Lawrence, and sisters image

Jennifer Lawrence, the hunger games, and catching fire image

just a cool aesthetic i thought you’d like.

Harry Potter

Related imageEveryone loves Harry Potter.  This series is so magical (i’m quite funny, aren’t i?). I am sirius, though (hilarious).  This is the series that got me into reading and more of the YA books.  Harry is undoubtedly my favorite character and I love following him throughout the seven books.

I did a Harry Potter tag here.  You should definitely go check it out.

The films are also basically flawless.  The fifth book and film is my favorite, though I really like the last book as well.  There’s so much that could be said about this wonderful series, but I’ll leave it at this:

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us.  What matters is the part we choose to act on.  That’s who we really are.” – the order of the phoenix.

Code Name Verity

This book isn’t extremely popular, but I still really love it.  I remember crying onto my sheets as I lay in bed on the Sunday morning that I finished it.  It really is a beautiful story about friendship.  One of my first posts was a review of it here.

The Giver Quartet

The Giver was published a while ago, I believe, but it is still a pretty popular book.  There was actually a movie made a few years ago of it which I really liked, yet it was extremely different from the book.  It has Meryl Streep and Odeya Rush in it…

Image result for the giver gifImage result for the giver gif

Anyway, there are four books which are related to each other yet they all follow different characters throughout a long journey.  I think it was a super interesting series for me as I was just getting into dystopian books and starting to think about humanity and problems and deep stuff like that.  I would totally recommend it for most anyone – I read those books around sixth or seventh grade, I think.

To Kill a Mockingbird

I read this a while ago and I don’t totally remember it, but I thought I would put it on my list because it’s an incredibly influential classic that teaches things about social inequality and growing up.  I wouldn’t say it’s at the top of my personal favorites list, but it’s for sure up there somewhere and most people agree that it’s a really good and meaningful book.

The Gallagher Girls Series

The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter is a YA mystery-contemporary type series that does not get the recognition it deserves.  It’s about a bunch of strong, independent, amazingly smart girls who go to a boarding school for spies.  Yes, it’s kind of cheesy, but it really is an enjoyable and notable series.  I read all six books this summer and loved them.  I would definitely recommend them to you.

I’m sure there are other books that I might put on this list.  I saw Little Women on my bookshelf just now and I remembered how much I love that story.  And Pride and Prejudice – that’s a classic.  But for now, I think this list compiles some of my top picks for favorite novels.

Sorry this post was a little bit late.  I’ll be back in a day or two for my weekend post.

— Adventuring Girl xx

 

 

22 thoughts on “favorite novels

  1. OMG I ACTUALLY LOVE ALL OF THESE BOOKS INCLUDING CODE NAME VERITY!! I’m screaming; I’ve found my reading twin! 😂 Harry Potter is my favorite series of all time, Katniss is one of the best female characters ever created, and the Giver is just really good. I actually haven’t finished the quartet, but I plan to do so! I really liked To Kill a Mockingbird as well; I read it last year. I would’ve cried when (spoiler alert for others) Julie died* but the Hunger Games kind of innoculated me against crying 😂

    Your post was a great wrap-up of all of the books! But I still can’t get over how I love all of the same books as you:)

    Have a wonderful weekend 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! Reading twins! I love Code Name Verity and I gave an extra copy I had to one of my friends several months ago. She read a couple chapters and we talked about it a bit but then she kinda completely gave up on it and i was like WHAT WHY (but I didn’t actually say that). Anyway yes, they’re all great books and thank you 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: we were liars – book review – The Adventuring Girl

  3. Pingback: “what cats do” – a book tag | The Adventuring Girl

Leave a Reply

