Starbucks and Basicness – my thoughts

Hey guys and gals.  How was your weekend?  Today I’ve got another rant-like, “my thoughts” post, but also some photos.

Often, when I bring up Starbucks, people tell me I’m “basic” or such a “white girl.”  I get bothered by that, for sure.  Yes, I am white and I am a girl, thank you for noticing, but please don’t stereotype me.  Earlier this weekend, I went to Starbucks and had a great time, but I also saw that there were all sorts of people there.  African-Americans, Hispanics, white people, Asians.  People of all ages – laughing teenagers, working college students and serious older people.  Girls and guys.  So why is Starbucks a “white girl” thing?  Why does our society have to stereotype a coffee shop? Can I drink my coffee without being criticized and put into a box?

And also, I’m not basic.  I think the whole idea of “basic” is a little dumb.  Sure, there are a lot of mainstream people who do the same crap and think and talk the same way and buy the same brands and live the same way.  That’s not me.  But there’s no need to degrade people who are mainstream, or people who are more unique and alternative because of what they like to do and/or wear and/or drink and eat.  This sounds so cliche, but you do you!  As the fabulous Emma Watson has said:

“I’m going to do what I’m going to do.  I’m going to be who I really am.  I’m going to figure out what that is.”

So do it.  Like Starbucks.  Or don’t.  Be maintstream.  Or don’t.  Be unique.  Or not.  Like what you like.  It’s your life, and you only have one.  So go for it.

On a much lighter note, I’ve taken some picture of my Starbucks drinks before not because i’m basic, but because I like photography (no kidding, I take photographs of a lot of things.  Like smoothies and books.  It’s a little weird).  So here are some of my favorites:

20160627_121008

20161221_16110620170109_16574220161219_155544

The one just above this is Fudge Hot Chocolate from when I went to London.  Did you know they had that?  It was very interesting.  But it wasn’t very good, to be honest.  I like the first one because it’s simply aesthetically pleasing to me.  And the second one was when everyone went to Starbucks in London.  The third, I think, is just a good picture because of the cup and the snow in the background.

I like Starbucks a lot, but I like all sorts of other drinks, too.  I like making tea at home and I also like several coffee shops that aren’t chains.  Do you guys like Starbucks?  Why or why not?  What do you think about my rant?  Do you consider yourself to be “basic”?

— Adventuring Girl xx

10 thoughts on “Starbucks and Basicness – my thoughts

  1. You’re such an inspiration to me! I’m new around here and I wish I could make my blog like yours! I also really like your writing style!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That means so so much to me ❤ When I'm writing I just try to be my honest self and write what's on my mind and heart and stuff like that. I think that's a great writing style/method for anyone. but on your blog, remember to be yourself because that's the best way to go when it comes to blogging 🙂 I'll check out your blog when I get a chance. xx

      Like

  2. I get this so much. I’m called so white all the time because of my photography and my love for coffee but I’m me and I don’t follow the mainstream trend. I don’t like makeup and that but I still like some of their trends. I get this stereotype so much, thank you for this post xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, THANK YOU. I honestly hate it so much when people stereotype by race or otherwise and say “that’s a thing exclusively for so-and-so” like NO, just because I like this or that that is mainstream doesn’t mean I’m basic, just as you said. Thanks so much for writing this! Certain stereotypes really need to stop, like this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

